Jewish Forum & Discussions - Chabad Talk  

Go Back   Jewish Forum & Discussions - Chabad Talk > Torah and Judaism > Yiddishkeit

Unread 04-11-2007, 09:09 PM   #1
sarah613

getting back on track

Hi all,

First, a short introduction. I'm Sarah. I'm a college student. I was born to a Jewish father and a non-Jewish mother, and I'm in the process of converting with an Orthodox beis din. I see that there are a few threads here on conversion, so I hope someone will be able to relate....

I've been working on this conversion for a few months now. I'm only in my first year of college, and I have no delusions that I will be able to finish converting while I'm still under my parents' roof. It'll be at least two years (I'm trying to graduate early) before I will even be able to join a religious community.

Well, at first, I did really well. I've been dressing exclusively tznius for about three months now, have been shomer Shabbos for even longer, am more or less shomer negia (though I will still touch family--cousins, etc.), read everything I can get my hands on...and these mitzvos have not been a burden. I enjoyed every bit of it.